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A Guide to the Slalom Rules
Feedback is welcome ­ send it to Nick Penfold.
  

The Aim of Canoe Slalom
The  aim  of  canoe  slalom  is  to  run  a  rapid  river
course  marked  by  "gates"  fast,  and  without
touching.
A  "gate"  is  two  poles,  suspended  over  the  water.
Green  and  white  gates  are  negotiated  in  a
downstream  direction,  red  and  white  gates
upstream.
The competitor has to pass through all the gates in
number order, and in the right direction ­ red ones
upstream, green ones downstream.
The  gates  are  numbered  in  the  order  of
negotiation  on  yellow  panels with  black  numbers.
On the side of the gate opposite to the direction of
negotiation a diagonal red line crosses through the
number.
If  the  paddler  touches  a  pole  with  anything  ­
paddle, boat, buoyancy aid, helmet or any part of
the body ­ a 2 second penalty  is added to his/her
time. If a gate is missed out, or negotiated in the
wrong direction or upside down, the penalty  is 50
seconds.

The Gate Line
The  gate  line  is  the  space  between  two  vertical
lines drawn from the outside edges of the bottoms
of the two poles to the river bed. If the poles are
displaced by a competitor, wind or water, the gate
line moves with them.
A paddler at X is inside the gate line
A paddler at Y is outside the gate line
A paddler at Z is inside the gate line

Note:  the  definition  "...to  the  river  bed",  rather
than to the surface of the water, takes effect from
the  start  of  the  2017  season.  It  makes  it  clear
that,  for  example,  a  paddler  who  has  passed
through  the  gate  upside­down  has  started
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negotiation and any previous gates not negotiated
are "dead".

Much of the judging exam is based on diagrams similar to those used here, and candidates may find it
helpful to get used to them.

The direction of the current is   (up the page) in all the diagrams below.

Correct Negotiation
A faultless negotiation is achieved when the  boat
(or part of it) and at least the whole head of
the  paddler  cross  the  gate  line  in  the  correct
direction  at  the  same  time,  and  no  part  of  the
boat,  the  paddler  or  his  equipment  touch  either
pole. For C2s, both paddlers' heads must cross the
gate line in one continuous movement.
Score  0  (clear)  for  Gate  2  in  all  the  next  four
diagrams.

Gate Penalty Reason
2 0  

Passing  through  the  gate
sideways  or  backwards  is
acceptable  as  long  as  the
direction of travel is right.
The  ends  of  the  boat  can  pass
under  the  ends  of  the  poles,  as
long as they don't touch them.

(sideways)

Gate Penalty Reason
2 0  

Passing  through  the  gate
sideways  or  backwards  is
acceptable  as  long  as  the
direction of travel is right.

(backwards)

Gate Penalty Reason
2 0  

Part  of  the  boat,  and  even  the
paddler's  body,  can  enter  and
reverse  out  of  the  gate  without
penalty,  provided  that  the
paddler's  head  does  not  enter
the  gate  line  and  the  paddler
subsequently negotiates the gate
correctly.

Gate Penalty Reason
2 0  

Touch Penalty
Score  a  2­second  penalty  when  the  competitor
negotiates  the  gate  correctly  but  any  part  of  the
paddler,  boat,  paddle  or  personal  equipment
touches either pole.
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Touching a pole twice, or touching both poles, does
not  increase  the  penalty.  In  your  notes,  write
down  the  first  touch  ­  which  pole,  and  what
touched it.

Gate Penalty Reason
2 2 boat, left pole

Incorrect Negotiation / Gate Not Negotiated
Note: from 2015 on, if a paddler or C2 crew would have incurred a 50 penalty by missing a gate, "no
boat", not the whole head, being capsized through the gate line or, in the case of a C2, when only one
of the two paddlers has passed through the gate ("split gate"), the paddler/crew can return and make a
second attempt at the gate and "clear" the 50 provided that  they did not pass through the gate
line in the wrong direction and they have not touched or negotiated a following gate.
The second attempt must be a correct negotiation in its own right. In a C2, both paddlers' heads must
pass through the gate on the second pass ­ if the crew have "split" the gate it  is not sufficient just to
get the other paddler through.
It is always the last passage that counts: if you go through a gate once correctly but then go round and
pass through the gate again, and in doing so you half head it or capsize in it, a 50 applies ­ unless you
do it yet again.
Any touch penalty stands, whether incurred on the first or second attempt.
Score a 50­second penalty when:

The  competitor  passes  through
the gate  in the wrong direction ­
with or without a touch.
From  the  start  of  the  2017
season  it  is  not  a  penalty  if
there is a momentary movement
in  the  wrong  direction  ­  a  wash
back, a bounce off a rock or the
wind  moving  the  gate  back  and
forward  ­  provided  that  the
paddler  is  going  in  the  right
direction  at  the  start  and  finish
of negotiation.

The boat  and  the paddler's  head
do not pass though the gate (but
see note above  re  "clearing"  the
penalty)

Gate Penalty Reason
2 50 out of gate right

There  is  no  part  of  the  boat  in
the gate when the paddler's head
passes  through  (but  see  note
above re "clearing" the penalty)

Gate Penalty Reason
2 50 no boat
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Gate Penalty Reason
2 50 wrong way

The whole of the paddler's head
does  not  pass  through  the  gate
line  (but  see  note  above  re
"clearing" the penalty)

Gate Penalty Reason
2 50 only half head

The  paddler's  head  crosses  the
gate line in the wrong direction

Gate Penalty Reason
2 50 double passage 

One  of  the  two  heads  in  a  C2
crosses  the  gate  line  in  the
wrong direction

Gate Pen Reason

2 50 front man double
passage

In  the  case  of  a  C2,  the  boat
leaves the gate line without both
paddlers'  heads  passing  through
(but see note above re "clearing"
the penalty)

Gate Penalty Reason

2 50 back man not
through gate line

The  boat  is  upside­down  in  the
gate line  (but  see note above  re
"clearing" the penalty)
Note: it  is not considered "upside down"
if part of the paddler's head is above the
water.

Gate Penalty Reason

2 50 upside­down in
gateline

 

"Pre­Touch" and "Pre­Negotiation"
Once a paddler negotiates any gate ­ or even touches it ­ all previous gates are "dead". If any previous
gate has not yet been negotiated a 50­second penalty applies even if the paddler afterwards negotiates
it.
However,  the  paddler  can  paddle  through  "dead"  gates  in  either  direction  or  even  touch  the  poles
without further penalty.
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Here  the paddler passes  through
Gate 2 before negotiating Gate 1.
Gate  1  is  "dead"  before  the
paddler  negotiates  it  ­  but  the
second  passage  through  Gate  2
does not incur any penalty.

Gate Penalty Reason

1 50 pre­negotiation of
Gate 2

2 0  

Here  the paddler  crosses a wide
Gate  2  gate  line  and  turns  back
across the  line to negotiate Gate
1.
If  only  the  paddler's  trunk
breaks  the  gate  line,  it  does
not  count  as  a  prenegotiation.
It's his/her head that counts.

Gate Penalty Reason

1 50 pre­negotiation of
Gate 2

2 50
wrong direction
(returned through

gate)

Here  the  boat  touches  the
outside of  the  right pole of Gate
2  before  negotiating  Gate  1.
Although  the  paddler  goes  on  to
negotiate  Gate  1  it  is  already
"dead".

Gate Penalty Reason

1 50 pre­touch on Gate
2

2 2 boat, outside touch
left pole

Here the nose of the boat enters
Gate  3  and,  in  turning  away,
touches  the  tip  of  the  pole  with
the foredeck.
If  the  front  of  the  boat  had
passed  under  the  Gate  3  pole
without touching, there would be
no penalty on either gate.

Gate Penalty Reason
2 50 pre­touch on Gate

Here the paddler touches Gate 3.
Gate  2  is  now  "dead",  so  the
outside  touch  doesn't  matter.
There is no additional penalty for
the  touch  on  Gate  2,  or  for  not
negotiating it.

Gate Penalty Reason
2 50 pre­touch on Gate

Even  if  the  boat  is  upside­down
when it passes through a gate, it
counts as a negotiation. Here the
boat  passes  though  Gate  3
upside­down (represented by the
black boat) then rolls up. Gate 2
is  "dead"  before  the  paddler
negotiates it.
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3
3 2 foredeck, left pole

3

3 2 boat, outside touch
left pole

The  later  correct  negotiation  of
gate  3  "clears"  that  penalty,  but
the 50 on gate 2 stands.

Gate Penalty Reason

2 50 pre­negotiation of
Gate 3

3 50 0 upside­down in
gate line cleared

Catch­ups and "Whistling Off"
If a paddler catches up with the one ahead, he/she has right of way and the paddler ahead should pull
out of  the way until  the  faster  paddler has gone  through.  The  judge  should  "whistle off"  the paddler
being overtaken, and  the overtaken paddler must  then get out of  the way until  the  faster paddler  is
clear.  If  he/she  does  not,  the  judge  should  ask  the  jury  to  consider  a  disqualification.  If  the  faster
paddler  is obstructed the  judge should record what happened and ask Control  to advise  the  jury  that
the paddler should be given a re­run if he/she asks for it.
Wait  before  you whistle. Whistle  off  only  when  the  paddler  ahead  will  obstruct  the  one  behind.
Don't whistle off one paddler  just because both boats are  in your section and  it's difficult  for you  to
cope.
You should not whistle a paddler off if the paddler behind has missed several gates. It can be difficult
to  know,  since  this was  probably  out  of  your  sight.  If  judges higher  up  the  course  are  on  the  same
communications line as you they may be able to warn you, but it is still difficult to make a fair call.

Photos stolen from the draft judging guide produced by Canoe Slalom New Zealand

The Rules
Below are the gate negotiation rules according to the rulebook. Changes for 2017 are in red.

C28 Negotiation
C28.1  All  the  gates  must  be  negotiated  in
numerical order.
C28.2  All  gates  may  be  negotiated  in  any
presentation  from  the  correct  side  of  the  gate  as
displayed by the number panels.
C28.3 The gate line, in all circumstances is defined
as the line between the outside edge of the bottom
of  the  two  poles.  The  gate  line  is  defined  as  the
line between the outside edge of the bottom of the
pole projected vertically to the river bed.
C28.4  The  following  conditions  must  be  satisfied
for negotiation of the gate:
C28.4.1 Negotiation of  a gate begins when  the
boat or  the  body  or  the  paddle  touches  a  pole
of the gate or part of the head of a Competitor
(in C2, one of the two Competitors) breaks the
gate line.
C28.4.2  Negotiation  of  a  gate  is  ended  when
the  negotiation  of  any  subsequent  gate  begins
or the finish line is crossed.

C28.5  The  following  conditions  must  be  satisfied
for a gate to be considered correctly negotiated:
C28.5.1  The  whole  head  of  the  Competitor  or
Competitors  must  cross  the  gate  line  in
accordance  with  the  correct  side  of  the  gate
and the course plan.

C29 Penalties
C29.1 Zero (0) Penalty seconds
Correct negotiation without  touching the pole with
any part of the body, equipment, paddle or boat.
C29.2 Two (2) Penalty seconds
Correct negotiation of the gate, but with a touch of
one or both poles.
C29.3 Repeated touching of the same or both poles
is only penalised once.
C29.4 Fifty (50) Penalty seconds:
C29.4.1  Touch  of  a  gate  (either  1  or  2  poles)
without correct negotiation of the gate.
C29.4.2  Intentional  pushing  of  a  gate  to  allow
negotiation. The criteria to judge an intentional
push are:­
1.  The  Competitor  is  not  in  a  position  in  to
negotiate the gate, or
2. That an unexpected action of the Competitor
(stroke or body motion) enables negotiation of
the gate.
C29.4.3 The head of the Competitor (in C2 one
or  both  Competitors)  breaks  the  gate  line
upside down. (For definition of upside down see
Rule  C32.1)  unless  correctly  renegotiated
before any subsequent gate negotiation begins.
C29.4.4 Any part of the head of the competitor
breaks  the  gate  line  in  the  wrong  direction
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UK  In  the  case  of  C2  the  heads  of  the  two
Competitors  must  cross  the  line  in  a  single
continuous  passage  (without  the  boat  leaving
the gate line).
C28.5.2  Part  of  the  boat  must  cross  the  gate
line at  the  same  instant  as  the  complete  head
crosses the line.

during  negotiation  of  the  gate,  unless  the
negotiation  of  the  gate  begins  in  the  correct
direction  and  finishes  in  the  correct  direction
before any subsequent gate is negotiated.
C29.4.5 Gate left out:­
Gate(s) left out is determined to have occurred
when negotiation of any subsequent gate begins
or the finish line is crossed.
C29.4.6 The  last  team member  failing  to cross
the finish line within fifteen (15) seconds of the
first team member to finish.
C29.4.7  Part  of  the  head  breaks  the  gate  line
(in C2, one or both competitors)  in  the correct
direction,  with  or  without  part  of  the  boat,
unless  correctly  renegotiated  before  any
subsequent gate is negotiated.

C29.5  Undercutting  of  a  gate  by  the  Competitor
with any part of body or equipment, except part of
their head, without a touch is not penalised.
C29.6  Repeated  attempts  at  a  gate  without
touching  the  poles  is  not  penalised  if  part  of  the
head of the Competitor(s) has not broken the gate
line in the wrong direction.
C29.7 Fifty  (50) penalty  seconds  is  the maximum
obtainable by any one Competitor on any gate.
C29.8 At all  times,  the benefit  of  any doubt must
be given to the Competitor.  
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