July 2016

Well done to Michael Fitzsimons at the U23/Junior Worlds in Minsk, Belarus

Well done to Michael Fitzsimon’s and his result yesterday at the U23 Worlds in Minsk, Belarus. He was the 2nd fastest qualifier for the final and will be racing for gold tomorrow morning at 8:15am, Irish time. We will all have our fingers crossed for him!. It’d be great if everyone could support him considering he is one of the favourites to win.
To watch it live go to: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVagCjubko2x50KpYhnLsCQ and pick the morning live stream.

Skibereen to Baltimore Irelands Newest Blueway

Irelands newest Blueway,  which travels along the Ilen River from Skibbereen to Baltimore, will open this Friday the 22nd July 2016.  This stunning Blueway takes you from the heart of Skibbereen through the town to the newley developed Deelish Peer.  From here the trail meanders down towards Inish Beg where you can stop off to visit the stunning Inish Beg Estate Gardens or continue on to the historic Glebe Graveyard Trailhead.  The last stretch of Blueway travels from Glebe Graveyard around Ringarogy and Spanish Island, past the seal colony island and on to Baltimore.  This last section is a little more exposed and is classed as an advanced Blueway for more experienced paddlers or guided groups.

Congratulations to Cork County Council, Jim Kennedy from Atlantic Sea Kayaking and everyone who was involved in this great project.

Ilen River 1

Ilen River 2

A photo of the Ilen River near Baltimore on a moody, but beautiful, Irish day.











Mick O’Meara has been nominated for a spirit of adventure award for his speed circumnavigation of Ireland in 23 days.
WHAT: Sea kayaker laps the Emerald Isle in 23 days.
HOW: Last July, Irishman Mick O’Meara completed a 930-mile, self-supported journey around his native island, setting a new speed record.

Please show your support by voting for him here.


Be respectful of Anglers

The recent rains have brought a lot of anglers on to the Foyle system. Although most kayaking and rafting takes place on rivers over the winter, there will be some activity during the summer and early autumn (just when angling reaches its peak). Kayakers and rafters are urged to watch out for anglers, pulling in out of the flow until they are aware of their presence and can signal that it is convenient to proceed. Showing this courtesy to fellow river users will prevent the anglers day being ruined and avoid the risk of injury through a paddler being hooked or an angler bumped by a boat!

Angling season runs until 15th September on the Foyle and Finn and 20th October on other Foyle system rivers and 31st October on Carlingford waters.

U23 & Junior Slalom World Championships underway from Krakow Poland

Well done to Liam Jegou – Canoe Slalom Athlete who came first in Qualification Heat 1 of C1M U23 with the second fastest run-time of the day to progress straight to the semi-finals on Friday. Brilliant result Liam!
Robert Hendrick and Jake Cochrane both picked up 50’s in Heat 1 so had to rely on Heat 2 to seek qualification but finished in 15th and 27th places so outside of the 10 paddlers who progressed on that run. Jake’s time without penalties would have been sufficient to make the cut.
In the C1M Junior class, Fionn McNally and Eoin Moorhouse were making their debut at this level of competition and acquitted themselves well on this very difficult course but finished in 40th and 54th positions..
Tomorrow sees our K1M U23 & Jun and our C1W athletes competing.
Follow the action live on

2016 World Slalom U23 and Junior Championships Krakow

We wish our Canoe Slalom Team all the best at the World U23 and Junior Championships in Krakow,

Mens C1 U23 – Liam Jegou, Robert Hendrick, Jake Cochrane

Mens K1 U23 – Eoin Teague, Sam Curtis, Noel Hendrick

Womens C1 U23 – Caoimhe O’Ferrall

Mens C1 Junior – Robert Moorhouse, Fionn McNally

Mens K1 Junior – Sean Ansell, Cian Vaugh – Conleth McLarnonIreland Krakow 2016

New Slalom Course to be built in Clonmel this summer

Canoeing Ireland are delighted to announce that works are due to begin this summer on a new 250 metre long Canoe Slalom course on the Suir in Clonmel as part of the broader Suir Blueway project. Canoeing Ireland have been working hard over the last 3 years in partnership with Clonmel Canoe Club, Tipperary Sports Partnership and Tipperary County Council to develop this exciting project for the South East. This new course will create a 250 metre, grade II-III, slalom course, with a variety of features and permanent slalom gates. The project will also install a multi purpose ramp on the existing Lady Blessingtons Weir which will improve fish migration on the Suir, provide safe passage over the weir for Canoeists and generate a freestyle feature for local paddlers. We are really excited about this project which is due to be completed by the end of the summer.


%d bloggers like this: